OpenAI launches ChatGPT Work as Google unveils Gemma 4
· 10 stories · 30 sources
Written with AI, sources linked for every story
OpenAI is launching ChatGPT Work to handle tasks across apps and files, including spreadsheets and web apps. Google has presented Gemma 4, a family of multimodal open-weight models. xAI and Cursor have launched Grok 4.5 for coding and other AI agent tasks. Meanwhile, Nvidia is adding revenue sharing to its AI cloud partnerships.
1Products & toolsAI agentsCoding & dev toolsEnterprise AI
OpenAI launches ChatGPT Work for tasks across apps and files
ChatGPT Work is designed to handle multistep tasks and produce finished documents, spreadsheets, or web apps. Access is rolling out by platform and plan.
OpenAI introduced ChatGPT Work on July 9, 2026. The agent in ChatGPT is powered by Codex and GPT-5.6 and is designed to work across apps and files. OpenAI says it can stay with a project for hours and produce documents, slides, spreadsheets, or web apps. Access on web and mobile began with a phased rollout by plan.12
The product brings chat and coding workflows closer together: ChatGPT Work is meant to carry out multiple steps toward a usable result rather than only provide answers or code.1 For companies, access differs by platform. Work is available on more plans in the desktop app than it was at the start of the web and mobile rollout.12 Whether its output suits a particular workflow still needs to be tested against that workflow’s requirements.
What it means for companies
If your team handles multistep tasks involving files and connected apps, test Work on a narrowly defined workflow first. Check output quality and required access before expanding its use.
Gemma 4 spans multimodal models with 2.3B to 31B parameters. Google describes the family in a technical report.
Google presented Gemma 4 in a technical report in early July. The report was submitted on July 2, and Google's Gemma team highlighted it on July 7.12 The open-weight family spans 2.3B to 31B parameters. Its models handle multiple modalities and use both dense and Mixture-of-Experts architectures.1 A model card for the 31B variant is available on Google's Hugging Face page.3
Google reports improvements in compute efficiency, inference speed, memory use, and long-context tasks. The technical report also describes gains on STEM and multimodal benchmarks.1 For organizations evaluating the models, those claims are a starting point rather than a substitute for testing: context windows differ across variants.3 Teams should assess which model fits their workloads and available hardware.
What it means for companies
If you are considering open-weight models for internal applications, compare variants on your own tasks and data. Test memory use, response time, and usable context length on your hardware.
The multimodal model is designed to improve tool and computer use. Developers can access it through the new Meta Model API.
Meta introduced Muse Spark 1.1 and the Meta Model API in a public preview for developers on July 9, 2026.12 Meta describes the multimodal model as built for agentic tasks, with improvements in tool and computer use, coding, and multimodal understanding.1 It is available in “Thinking” mode in the Meta AI app and on meta.ai, while external developers can access it through the new API.12
The release adds API access with tool and function calling to the Muse Spark family.2 It also puts Meta more directly into the market for AI-assisted coding and automated workflows. Reuters describes its token prices as competitive with OpenAI and Anthropic, though not uniformly the cheapest.3 Meta reports improvements across several performance areas; companies will still need to test the model against their own tasks and tools.2
What it means for companies
If you use AI for coding or automated workflows, compare Muse Spark with your current models on real tasks. Check costs, tool-call reliability, and access controls before deployment.
Grok 4.5 is available in Cursor and through xAI. The jointly developed model targets coding and other AI agent tasks.
On July 8, 2026, xAI and Cursor introduced Grok 4.5, a jointly developed model for coding and other AI agent tasks.12 At launch, it was available in Cursor on desktop, web, and iOS, as well as through its CLI and SDK.1 xAI also offered access through Grok Build and its developer console.12
According to Cursor, Grok 4.5 builds on a new pretrained mixture-of-experts model that was then trained further on trillions of tokens of Cursor data.1 The companies intend it to handle broader agent tasks, not just software engineering.1 Published token prices for the base model and a faster variant let teams compare costs before deployment.1 Whether either option is reliable enough for a particular workflow still requires testing against that team’s own tasks.
What it means for companies
If you use coding agents, compare both variants using your typical tasks and token volumes. Test output quality and costs in your own development workflows before replacing an existing model.
Tencent has made Hy3's weights available. The model targets agent workloads, while the cost of hosted access depends on the provider.
Tencent released its Hunyuan model Hy3 on July 6, 2026, and made the weights available on platforms including Hugging Face and ModelScope.12 Tencent positions the mixture-of-experts model for agent workloads and integration into products.12 Under this architecture, only a portion of the model's parameters is activated for each token.2
That can limit compute per token, but it does not guarantee lower total operating costs.2 Tencent says Hy3 approaches the performance of larger open models in some comparisons; companies should test that claim against their own workloads.12 The cost of hosted access is also separate from the license for the model weights: a free access offer on OpenRouter was time-limited.23
What it means for companies
If you run AI agents, test Hy3 on your own tasks and measure quality, latency, and cost. Compare self-hosting with API access; a free access promotion is not a long-term pricing plan.
6Products & toolsImage, video & audioChatbots & assistantsPricing & costs
Meta brings Muse Image to Meta AI, Instagram Stories, and WhatsApp
Meta’s new image-generation model is rolling out in Meta AI. Features in Instagram Stories and WhatsApp have limited regional availability at launch.
Meta introduced Muse Image on July 7, 2026, calling it the first image-generation model from Meta Superintelligence Labs.12 The rollout in the Meta AI app and on meta.ai began that day.1 Features powered by the model are also available in Instagram Stories in the US and WhatsApp in select countries.13 Meta did not announce a worldwide launch for those features.1
Adding image generation to Stories and chats puts the model inside apps people already use.1 Meta says everyday use is free, while heavier creation falls under its subscription plans.1 It has not published specific prices or usage limits.1 That leaves costs for sustained, high-volume use unclear for businesses. Meta says support for Facebook and Messenger will follow later.1
What it means for companies
If you create AI images for social media, test the features within your existing Meta workflows. Avoid budgeting for high-volume use until prices and limits are clear.
7ModelsImage, video & audioPricing & costsAI agents
OpenAI adds Realtime models with reasoning and tool use to its API
OpenAI has released two Realtime models. The mini variant aims to make voice interactions with reasoning and tool use faster and less expensive.
OpenAI made gpt-realtime-2.1 and gpt-realtime-2.1-mini available through its Realtime API on July 6, 2026.1 The mini variant supports real-time voice interactions, reasoning, and tool use.12 OpenAI positions it as a faster, lower-cost option alongside the more capable model, which it emphasizes for reasoning, tool use, and following instructions.1
The models target voice and multimodal applications where response times and operating costs matter.1 OpenAI says improved caching has reduced p95 latency across its Realtime voice models by at least 25%; that figure is not a separate measurement of the mini variant’s improvement.1 The announcement does not include benchmark tables that would allow developers to compare performance in specific applications.1
What it means for companies
If you build voice assistants, test the mini variant with real conversations and tool calls. Compare response times and costs with the more capable model rather than assuming the overall latency figure applies to your use case.
GitHub Copilot adds its first selectable open-weight model
Kimi K2.7 Code is now available to Copilot Business and Enterprise users. Administrators must enable it for those plans.
GitHub made Moonshot AI’s Kimi K2.7 Code generally available in GitHub Copilot on July 1, 2026.1 GitHub calls it the first open-weight model users can select in Copilot’s model picker.1 It initially rolled out to Pro, Pro+, and Max users; on July 7, GitHub extended availability to Copilot Business and Enterprise.21 The model is off by default for those organizational plans and requires an administrator to enable it.2
GitHub hosts the model on Microsoft Azure and charges for its use at the provider’s list prices under usage-based billing.2 Open weights therefore do not mean that Copilot runs the model locally.2 GitHub presents Kimi K2.7 Code as a lower-cost option with strong performance, but its announcements provide no benchmark figures to support that assessment.21 Companies considering it should test representative coding tasks and check their usage costs before switching models.
What it means for companies
If your company uses Copilot, check whether an administrator has enabled the model. Test it on your regular coding tasks and monitor the resulting usage costs.
9Products & toolsAI agentsCoding & dev toolsEnterprise AI
Google Cloud makes AlphaEvolve generally available
The algorithm discovery and code optimization agent developed with Google DeepMind is now generally available on Google Cloud.
Google Cloud made AlphaEvolve generally available on July 9, 2026.1 Developed with Google DeepMind, the agent is part of the Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform on Google Cloud.12 Google says it uses Gemini to develop algorithms and optimize code. Companies can also use it to address infrastructure bottlenecks, according to the launch announcement.12
The release expands access beyond an earlier testing phase.1 Google had previously described internal uses of AlphaEvolve to optimize its own systems.3 General availability now brings the agent to a broader set of cloud users.12 It remains unclear whether the reported improvements to code and infrastructure can be reproduced reliably outside Google’s examples: the launch materials do not provide independent evidence of those results.13
What it means for companies
If you run compute-intensive software, AlphaEvolve may be worth testing on optimization tasks with measurable outcomes. Compare its results with your existing methods before counting on savings.
Nvidia adds revenue sharing to its AI cloud partnerships
Nvidia is expanding access to AI compute through partner clouds. The company aims to earn cloud revenue alongside hardware sales.
In early July, Nvidia introduced a model intended to give AI startups access to compute through partner clouds.12 Cloud providers buy Nvidia hardware and rent the resulting capacity to startups and other customers.32 Nvidia receives hardware sales revenue as well as a share of the cloud revenue generated by that capacity.32 Access therefore comes through cloud partners, rather than a program that gives startups free GPUs.13
The arrangement could give Nvidia recurring revenue alongside its existing hardware business. For customers, rented capacity can offer an alternative to building their own infrastructure.32 But the economics are difficult to assess from the public information: Nvidia has not disclosed its revenue-share percentage or full contract terms.45 The available details do not establish that startups can use the GPUs at no cost.13
What it means for companies
If you buy AI compute, compare costs over your expected usage period with owned GPUs and existing cloud options. Check whether credits expire and what pricing applies afterward.
Every week we analyze a wide range of AI sources, select the stories that matter most to companies and research each of them. The texts are written with AI assistance and link to the original sources. How our news agent works
AI NewsWeek 28, 2026 July 4 – 10, 2026
Written with AI, sources linked for every story · 10 stories · 30 sources
OpenAI launches ChatGPT Work as Google unveils Gemma 4
OpenAI is launching ChatGPT Work to handle tasks across apps and files, including spreadsheets and web apps. Google has presented Gemma 4, a family of multimodal open-weight models. xAI and Cursor have launched Grok 4.5 for coding and other AI agent tasks. Meanwhile, Nvidia is adding revenue sharing to its AI cloud partnerships.
1 Products & tools · AI agents · Coding & dev tools · Enterprise AI
OpenAI launches ChatGPT Work for tasks across apps and files
ChatGPT Work is designed to handle multistep tasks and produce finished documents, spreadsheets, or web apps. Access is rolling out by platform and plan.
OpenAI introduced ChatGPT Work on July 9, 2026. The agent in ChatGPT is powered by Codex and GPT-5.6 and is designed to work across apps and files. OpenAI says it can stay with a project for hours and produce documents, slides, spreadsheets, or web apps. Access on web and mobile began with a phased rollout by plan.12
The product brings chat and coding workflows closer together: ChatGPT Work is meant to carry out multiple steps toward a usable result rather than only provide answers or code.1 For companies, access differs by platform. Work is available on more plans in the desktop app than it was at the start of the web and mobile rollout.12 Whether its output suits a particular workflow still needs to be tested against that workflow’s requirements.
Work launched on web and mobile for Pro, Enterprise, and Edu.12
Plus and Business users were set to gain access over the following days.2
Desktop Chat, Work, and Codex are available on every plan, including Free.1
The desktop app is available globally on Windows and Mac.1
What it means for companies: If your team handles multistep tasks involving files and connected apps, test Work on a narrowly defined workflow first. Check output quality and required access before expanding its use.
Gemma 4 spans multimodal models with 2.3B to 31B parameters. Google describes the family in a technical report.
Google presented Gemma 4 in a technical report in early July. The report was submitted on July 2, and Google's Gemma team highlighted it on July 7.12 The open-weight family spans 2.3B to 31B parameters. Its models handle multiple modalities and use both dense and Mixture-of-Experts architectures.1 A model card for the 31B variant is available on Google's Hugging Face page.3
Google reports improvements in compute efficiency, inference speed, memory use, and long-context tasks. The technical report also describes gains on STEM and multimodal benchmarks.1 For organizations evaluating the models, those claims are a starting point rather than a substitute for testing: context windows differ across variants.3 Teams should assess which model fits their workloads and available hardware.
31B Parameters in largest model
Some variants support context windows of up to 256,000 tokens.3
A thinking mode generates reasoning steps before an answer.1
What it means for companies: If you are considering open-weight models for internal applications, compare variants on your own tasks and data. Test memory use, response time, and usable context length on your hardware.
Sources: 1 arxiv.org · 2 x.com · 3 huggingface.co
3 Models · AI agents · Coding & dev tools · Pricing & costs
Meta launches Muse Spark 1.1 and new Model API
The multimodal model is designed to improve tool and computer use. Developers can access it through the new Meta Model API.
Meta introduced Muse Spark 1.1 and the Meta Model API in a public preview for developers on July 9, 2026.12 Meta describes the multimodal model as built for agentic tasks, with improvements in tool and computer use, coding, and multimodal understanding.1 It is available in “Thinking” mode in the Meta AI app and on meta.ai, while external developers can access it through the new API.12
The release adds API access with tool and function calling to the Muse Spark family.2 It also puts Meta more directly into the market for AI-assisted coding and automated workflows. Reuters describes its token prices as competitive with OpenAI and Anthropic, though not uniformly the cheapest.3 Meta reports improvements across several performance areas; companies will still need to test the model against their own tasks and tools.2
$1.25 per million input tokens
The API preview was initially open to developers in the United States.3
What it means for companies: If you use AI for coding or automated workflows, compare Muse Spark with your current models on real tasks. Check costs, tool-call reliability, and access controls before deployment.
4 Models · AI agents · Coding & dev tools · Pricing & costs
xAI and Cursor launch jointly developed Grok 4.5
Grok 4.5 is available in Cursor and through xAI. The jointly developed model targets coding and other AI agent tasks.
On July 8, 2026, xAI and Cursor introduced Grok 4.5, a jointly developed model for coding and other AI agent tasks.12 At launch, it was available in Cursor on desktop, web, and iOS, as well as through its CLI and SDK.1 xAI also offered access through Grok Build and its developer console.12
According to Cursor, Grok 4.5 builds on a new pretrained mixture-of-experts model that was then trained further on trillions of tokens of Cursor data.1 The companies intend it to handle broader agent tasks, not just software engineering.1 Published token prices for the base model and a faster variant let teams compare costs before deployment.1 Whether either option is reliable enough for a particular workflow still requires testing against that team’s own tasks.
$2 per million input tokens
Base model: $2 per million input tokens and $6 per million output tokens.1
Fast variant: $4 per million input tokens and $18 per million output tokens.1
Cursor doubled included usage for the first week.1
What it means for companies: If you use coding agents, compare both variants using your typical tasks and token volumes. Test output quality and costs in your own development workflows before replacing an existing model.
Sources: 1 cursor.com · 2 reuters.com
5 Models · AI agents · Open source · Enterprise AI
Tencent releases open Hy3 model for AI agents
Tencent has made Hy3's weights available. The model targets agent workloads, while the cost of hosted access depends on the provider.
Tencent released its Hunyuan model Hy3 on July 6, 2026, and made the weights available on platforms including Hugging Face and ModelScope.12 Tencent positions the mixture-of-experts model for agent workloads and integration into products.12 Under this architecture, only a portion of the model's parameters is activated for each token.2
That can limit compute per token, but it does not guarantee lower total operating costs.2 Tencent says Hy3 approaches the performance of larger open models in some comparisons; companies should test that claim against their own workloads.12 The cost of hosted access is also separate from the license for the model weights: a free access offer on OpenRouter was time-limited.23
The model weights are released under the Apache 2.0 license.2
OpenRouter offered free access through July 21, 2026.3
What it means for companies: If you run AI agents, test Hy3 on your own tasks and measure quality, latency, and cost. Compare self-hosting with API access; a free access promotion is not a long-term pricing plan.
Meta brings Muse Image to Meta AI, Instagram Stories, and WhatsApp
Meta’s new image-generation model is rolling out in Meta AI. Features in Instagram Stories and WhatsApp have limited regional availability at launch.
Meta introduced Muse Image on July 7, 2026, calling it the first image-generation model from Meta Superintelligence Labs.12 The rollout in the Meta AI app and on meta.ai began that day.1 Features powered by the model are also available in Instagram Stories in the US and WhatsApp in select countries.13 Meta did not announce a worldwide launch for those features.1
Adding image generation to Stories and chats puts the model inside apps people already use.1 Meta says everyday use is free, while heavier creation falls under its subscription plans.1 It has not published specific prices or usage limits.1 That leaves costs for sustained, high-volume use unclear for businesses. Meta says support for Facebook and Messenger will follow later.1
Muse Image can edit images using sketches and annotations.2
The model can compose images from multiple references.2
Meta did not publish Muse Image’s parameter count.12
What it means for companies: If you create AI images for social media, test the features within your existing Meta workflows. Avoid budgeting for high-volume use until prices and limits are clear.
7 Models · Image, video & audio · Pricing & costs · AI agents
OpenAI adds Realtime models with reasoning and tool use to its API
OpenAI has released two Realtime models. The mini variant aims to make voice interactions with reasoning and tool use faster and less expensive.
OpenAI made gpt-realtime-2.1 and gpt-realtime-2.1-mini available through its Realtime API on July 6, 2026.1 The mini variant supports real-time voice interactions, reasoning, and tool use.12 OpenAI positions it as a faster, lower-cost option alongside the more capable model, which it emphasizes for reasoning, tool use, and following instructions.1
The models target voice and multimodal applications where response times and operating costs matter.1 OpenAI says improved caching has reduced p95 latency across its Realtime voice models by at least 25%; that figure is not a separate measurement of the mini variant’s improvement.1 The announcement does not include benchmark tables that would allow developers to compare performance in specific applications.1
at least 25% lower p95 latency
Mini text input costs $0.60 per million tokens, or $0.06 when cached.1
What it means for companies: If you build voice assistants, test the mini variant with real conversations and tool calls. Compare response times and costs with the more capable model rather than assuming the overall latency figure applies to your use case.
Sources: 1 community.openai.com · 2 x.com
8 Models · Coding & dev tools · Open source · Enterprise AI
GitHub Copilot adds its first selectable open-weight model
Kimi K2.7 Code is now available to Copilot Business and Enterprise users. Administrators must enable it for those plans.
GitHub made Moonshot AI’s Kimi K2.7 Code generally available in GitHub Copilot on July 1, 2026.1 GitHub calls it the first open-weight model users can select in Copilot’s model picker.1 It initially rolled out to Pro, Pro+, and Max users; on July 7, GitHub extended availability to Copilot Business and Enterprise.21 The model is off by default for those organizational plans and requires an administrator to enable it.2
GitHub hosts the model on Microsoft Azure and charges for its use at the provider’s list prices under usage-based billing.2 Open weights therefore do not mean that Copilot runs the model locally.2 GitHub presents Kimi K2.7 Code as a lower-cost option with strong performance, but its announcements provide no benchmark figures to support that assessment.21 Companies considering it should test representative coding tasks and check their usage costs before switching models.
1st open-weight model in Copilot
Visual Studio Code requires version 1.127.0 or later.1
The model is also available in Copilot CLI and Copilot cloud agent.1
What it means for companies: If your company uses Copilot, check whether an administrator has enabled the model. Test it on your regular coding tasks and monitor the resulting usage costs.
Sources: 1 github.blog · 2 github.blog
9 Products & tools · AI agents · Coding & dev tools · Enterprise AI
Google Cloud makes AlphaEvolve generally available
The algorithm discovery and code optimization agent developed with Google DeepMind is now generally available on Google Cloud.
Google Cloud made AlphaEvolve generally available on July 9, 2026.1 Developed with Google DeepMind, the agent is part of the Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform on Google Cloud.12 Google says it uses Gemini to develop algorithms and optimize code. Companies can also use it to address infrastructure bottlenecks, according to the launch announcement.12
The release expands access beyond an earlier testing phase.1 Google had previously described internal uses of AlphaEvolve to optimize its own systems.3 General availability now brings the agent to a broader set of cloud users.12 It remains unclear whether the reported improvements to code and infrastructure can be reproduced reliably outside Google’s examples: the launch materials do not provide independent evidence of those results.13
Early-access testing included logistics and semiconductors.14
Other tested fields included genomics, high-performance computing, and financial services.14
Google did not announce a public price at launch.12
What it means for companies: If you run compute-intensive software, AlphaEvolve may be worth testing on optimization tasks with measurable outcomes. Compare its results with your existing methods before counting on savings.
10 Business & market · Enterprise AI · Pricing & costs
Nvidia adds revenue sharing to its AI cloud partnerships
Nvidia is expanding access to AI compute through partner clouds. The company aims to earn cloud revenue alongside hardware sales.
In early July, Nvidia introduced a model intended to give AI startups access to compute through partner clouds.12 Cloud providers buy Nvidia hardware and rent the resulting capacity to startups and other customers.32 Nvidia receives hardware sales revenue as well as a share of the cloud revenue generated by that capacity.32 Access therefore comes through cloud partners, rather than a program that gives startups free GPUs.13
The arrangement could give Nvidia recurring revenue alongside its existing hardware business. For customers, rented capacity can offer an alternative to building their own infrastructure.32 But the economics are difficult to assess from the public information: Nvidia has not disclosed its revenue-share percentage or full contract terms.45 The available details do not establish that startups can use the GPUs at no cost.13
CFO Colette Kress outlined the model in a July 1 blog post.1
Sharon AI and Firmus Technologies were named as initial partners.45
Reports describe compute credits for customers with limited funding.36
What it means for companies: If you buy AI compute, compare costs over your expected usage period with owned GPUs and existing cloud options. Check whether credits expire and what pricing applies afterward.