OpenAI cuts GPT-5.6 prices as Google unveils Gemini Robotics 2
· 10 stories · 36 sources
Written with AI, sources linked for every story
OpenAI is cutting prices for GPT-5.6 Luna by 80% and Terra by 20%, with changes to how usage is counted in Codex and ChatGPT Work. Google DeepMind has introduced Gemini Robotics 2 for full-body robot control and task planning. Anthropic reports new cryptanalysis findings from Claude Mythos, but says encryption currently used in production is unaffected. NVIDIA is also investing in Safe Superintelligence and providing compute access.
1ModelsPricing & costsEnterprise AI
OpenAI cuts prices for GPT-5.6 Luna and Terra
Luna costs 80% less and Terra 20% less. OpenAI says the cuts also affect how usage is counted in Codex and ChatGPT Work.
OpenAI cut API prices for GPT-5.6 Luna by 80% and Terra by 20% on July 30, 2026. The new rates took effect immediately. Sol’s price is unchanged, but a faster API option is now available for that model.1 OpenAI says the lower prices also affect how Luna and Terra usage is counted in Codex and ChatGPT Work.2
The cuts reduce per-token costs for the family’s two less expensive models. Amazon Bedrock is also automatically updating its on-demand prices to match.31 OpenAI has not explained exactly how the usage calculation changes in Codex and ChatGPT Work.2 Companies should therefore assess API spending separately from usage limits before projecting savings across existing workflows.
What it means for companies
If you use Luna or Terra through the API, update your cost forecasts with the new token rates. For Codex and ChatGPT Work, monitor actual usage before assuming the same savings apply to your limits.
2ModelsRobotics & devicesImage, video & audioAI agents
Google introduces Gemini Robotics 2 for full-body robot control
Google DeepMind expanded its robotics lineup with full-body humanoid control, task planning, and a model designed to run locally.
Google DeepMind introduced three robotics models on July 30, 2026. Gemini Robotics 2 is designed to control humanoid robots from feet to fingertips, extending beyond the upper-body focus of earlier systems. Gemini Robotics ER 2 handles video understanding, task planning, and collaboration among robots. Gemini Robotics On-Device 2 is designed to run locally on robot hardware. Access to the two robot-control models is initially limited.12
Gemini Robotics ER 2 is available through the Gemini API and Google AI Studio, with private preview access on the Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform.23 That difference lets companies test planning capabilities before they can test direct full-body robot control. How reliably the control model performs beyond demonstrated tasks, and when access will widen, remain open questions.1
What it means for companies
If you are planning robotics projects, you can first evaluate task planning and video understanding through the available interfaces. Testing direct full-body control requires access to the more restricted models.
Claude Mythos finds HAWK weakness and faster research attack on AES
Anthropic reports new cryptanalysis results for HAWK and a reduced version of AES. The findings do not affect encryption currently used in production.
On July 28, 2026, Anthropic presented two cryptanalysis results aided by Claude Mythos Preview.1 The model identified a previously unknown weakness in HAWK, a post-quantum digital signature candidate under NIST review.1 For the small HAWK-256 parameter set, Anthropic estimates that the work needed for full key recovery falls from 2⁶⁴ to 2³⁸ operations.1
The model also found a faster attack against a reduced-round research version of AES-128.1 HAWK is not yet an adopted standard and had already undergone extensive expert review.1 The finding illustrates how AI can assist evaluations of cryptographic candidates.1 Neither result demonstrates an attack on encryption currently used in production: the AES result does not apply to the standard cipher, and the HAWK finding has not been shown to extend to other parameter sets.1
What it means for companies
If you are evaluating cryptographic systems, check standardization status and recent security analyses before adoption. Plan for replacing candidate schemes if new weaknesses emerge; this result does not call for replacing existing AES deployments.
4Infrastructure & hardwareFunding & dealsChips & data centersScience & health
NVIDIA invests in Safe Superintelligence and provides compute access
NVIDIA and Safe Superintelligence plan to scale the lab’s AI research. Reuters puts the investment at $5 billion, but the official announcement gives no amount.
NVIDIA and Safe Superintelligence (SSI) announced a long-term strategic partnership on July 27, 2026. NVIDIA is investing in the AI research lab, which will also gain access to its upcoming Vera Rubin platform.1 Reuters put the investment at $5 billion, citing a person familiar with the matter. NVIDIA did not disclose an amount in its official announcement.12
SSI plans to expand its research with the funding and compute access. The companies say the agreement will enable SSI to increase its compute capacity by an order of magnitude. They also plan to collaborate on current and future NVIDIA platforms.1 SSI was founded by Ilya Sutskever, OpenAI’s former chief scientist.3 The agreement concerns research infrastructure, not the release of a new model.1
What it means for companies
If you plan AI infrastructure, assess compute availability alongside model access. This partnership does not yet provide new model features or an offering you can deploy.
New MCP specification removes protocol-level sessions
MCP no longer requires sessions in its protocol core. The change aims to simplify server deployment, but applications can still maintain their own state.
The Model Context Protocol (MCP) published a new specification on July 28, 2026.1 Its core no longer uses protocol-level sessions: the initialize and initialized handshake and the Mcp-Session-Id header have been removed.2 Version and capability information now travels in each request’s _meta fields.2 Anthropic is rolling out support across Claude products.3
The change makes MCP servers easier to run on standard HTTP infrastructure, including serverless and edge deployments.13 Operators can reduce their reliance on sticky sessions and shared session stores.1 A stateless protocol does not make every application stateless: workflows that span multiple calls still need application-level state management.2 The release also changes authorization and adds a framework for extensions.1
What it means for companies
If you run MCP servers, check dependencies on the old handshake and session header. You still need to manage state for multi-step workflows; test existing clients before migrating.
6Products & toolsCybersecurityCoding & dev toolsOpen source
OpenAI releases open-source Codex Security CLI
The CLI scans repositories for vulnerabilities and can run in CI/CD. Access to the underlying service remains restricted.
OpenAI released the open-source Codex Security CLI on July 29, 2026.1 It scans repositories for vulnerabilities, tracks findings across runs, and can check whether fixes work.1 Teams can also add its security checks to CI/CD pipelines.1 A TypeScript SDK is available alongside the command-line tool.2
The software used to access the service is open source, but the underlying Codex Security scanner remains in a restricted beta.23 Teams can prepare an integration, but they still need approval to use the service.43 OpenAI positions it as a way for security and engineering teams to find, confirm, and fix vulnerabilities.4 For companies, access to the service is therefore a practical consideration alongside the technical integration.43
What it means for companies
If you plan to add security checks to CI/CD, confirm that your team can access the service first. Test its findings against your existing checks before making them a release gate.
7Products & toolsAI agentsCybersecurityEnterprise AI
Microsoft unveils Project Perception for AI-assisted cyber defense
Specialized AI agents are designed to find attack paths, prioritize risks, and carry out remediation. A public preview is planned for August.
Microsoft unveiled Project Perception on July 27, 2026. The security system uses specialized AI agents in three roles: red team agents look for potential attack paths, blue team agents investigate and prioritize risks, and green team agents handle remediation and hardening. Microsoft describes it as a continuously learning defense system. A public preview is planned for early August.12
The agents are intended to connect work from finding attack paths through remediation, rather than merely generating alerts.1 Microsoft also introduced MAI-Cyber-1-Flash, its own cybersecurity-focused model, which is used in the MDASH vulnerability-management system.13 It remains unclear how much of Project Perception will be available outside existing Microsoft security workflows. Specific pricing and eligibility have also not been clarified.4
What it means for companies
If you use Microsoft security tools, check which agent capabilities are available in the preview for your environment. Decide which remediation actions should require approval before enabling automation.
OpenAI plans free model access for 100,000 academic researchers
OpenAI is launching free access to its models and tools for researchers at selected institutions. It aims to expand the program to 100,000 participants through 2027.
OpenAI announced ChatGPT for Academic Researchers on July 29. The free program gives researchers at selected academic institutions access to advanced models and tools through ChatGPT, ChatGPT Work, and Codex. OpenAI plans to start with 10,000 researchers this summer and expand to 100,000 through 2027. The rollout is underway at institutions including the Institute for Advanced Study and École normale supérieure.1
Access is not open to all researchers: applicants must verify their institutional affiliation and describe their active research and intended scientific use. OpenAI also offers training and hands-on support. The company says data from the research workspace is not used to train models by default. For research teams, the program could lower the cost of using current AI tools, though participation depends on approval.12
What it means for companies
If you use AI in a research team, check eligibility and document your intended use before applying. Compare the available tools and privacy terms with your current setup.
Moonshot AI releases training infrastructure for Kimi K3
Moonshot AI has made AgentEnv and MoonEP publicly available. Both are components of the infrastructure behind Kimi K3.
On July 27, 2026, Moonshot AI released parts of the infrastructure behind Kimi K3. Alongside the model weights and technical report, the company released code for MoonEP and AgentEnv; FlashKDA was already open source.1 Developed with KVCache.ai, AgentEnv provides isolated environments and supports saving, resuming, and forking agent runs.1 The released weights are also available through Moonshot’s public repository.2
Moonshot describes AgentEnv as infrastructure for training agents with reinforcement learning.1 The release gives other teams access to components involved in developing the model, not just its weights.12 It is not one complete training system: Moonshot identifies AgentEnv, MoonEP, and FlashKDA as separate components.1 The announcement does not establish how much additional infrastructure a team would need to run them independently.1
What it means for companies
If your company trains agents, you can evaluate AgentEnv for isolated training environments. Run a technical trial before estimating the infrastructure and operational work needed to use it.
10ModelsOpen sourceImage, video & audioCoding & dev tools
Thinking Machines releases open weights for Inkling-Small
Inkling-Small uses 12 billion active parameters and, according to its maker, approaches the larger Inkling model’s performance. Its weights are available to download.
Thinking Machines Lab released Inkling-Small with openly available model weights on July 30, 2026. The model has 276 billion total parameters, with 12 billion active. Its weights are available to download from Hugging Face; users can fine-tune it on Tinker or try it in Tinker Playground. It accepts text, image, and audio inputs and produces text output.12
Thinking Machines describes its performance as comparable to the larger Inkling model at about a quarter of the size. That is the company’s assessment, not a claim that the models perform equally on every task.1 Artificial Analysis scored Inkling-Small at 40 and Inkling at 41 on its Intelligence Index.3 For companies, the question is whether the smaller model’s resource requirements and performance fit their specific applications.1
What it means for companies
If you run or fine-tune models, test Inkling-Small on your own tasks rather than relying on broad benchmarks alone. Compare output quality, memory needs, and operating costs with your current model.
Every week we analyze a wide range of AI sources, select the stories that matter most to companies and research each of them. The texts are written with AI assistance and link to the original sources. How our news agent works
AI NewsWeek 31, 2026 July 25 – 31, 2026
Written with AI, sources linked for every story · 10 stories · 36 sources
OpenAI cuts GPT-5.6 prices as Google unveils Gemini Robotics 2
OpenAI is cutting prices for GPT-5.6 Luna by 80% and Terra by 20%, with changes to how usage is counted in Codex and ChatGPT Work. Google DeepMind has introduced Gemini Robotics 2 for full-body robot control and task planning. Anthropic reports new cryptanalysis findings from Claude Mythos, but says encryption currently used in production is unaffected. NVIDIA is also investing in Safe Superintelligence and providing compute access.
1 Models · Pricing & costs · Enterprise AI
OpenAI cuts prices for GPT-5.6 Luna and Terra
Luna costs 80% less and Terra 20% less. OpenAI says the cuts also affect how usage is counted in Codex and ChatGPT Work.
OpenAI cut API prices for GPT-5.6 Luna by 80% and Terra by 20% on July 30, 2026. The new rates took effect immediately. Sol’s price is unchanged, but a faster API option is now available for that model.1 OpenAI says the lower prices also affect how Luna and Terra usage is counted in Codex and ChatGPT Work.2
The cuts reduce per-token costs for the family’s two less expensive models. Amazon Bedrock is also automatically updating its on-demand prices to match.31 OpenAI has not explained exactly how the usage calculation changes in Codex and ChatGPT Work.2 Companies should therefore assess API spending separately from usage limits before projecting savings across existing workflows.
−80% Luna price
Luna: $0.20 per million input tokens and $1.20 per million output tokens.1
Terra: $2 per million input tokens and $12 per million output tokens.1
Amazon Bedrock began automatically updating on-demand prices July 30.3
What it means for companies: If you use Luna or Terra through the API, update your cost forecasts with the new token rates. For Codex and ChatGPT Work, monitor actual usage before assuming the same savings apply to your limits.
2 Models · Robotics & devices · Image, video & audio · AI agents
Google introduces Gemini Robotics 2 for full-body robot control
Google DeepMind expanded its robotics lineup with full-body humanoid control, task planning, and a model designed to run locally.
Google DeepMind introduced three robotics models on July 30, 2026. Gemini Robotics 2 is designed to control humanoid robots from feet to fingertips, extending beyond the upper-body focus of earlier systems. Gemini Robotics ER 2 handles video understanding, task planning, and collaboration among robots. Gemini Robotics On-Device 2 is designed to run locally on robot hardware. Access to the two robot-control models is initially limited.12
Gemini Robotics ER 2 is available through the Gemini API and Google AI Studio, with private preview access on the Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform.23 That difference lets companies test planning capabilities before they can test direct full-body robot control. How reliably the control model performs beyond demonstrated tasks, and when access will widen, remain open questions.1
3 models introduced
The model lineup was introduced on July 30, 2026.1
Gemini Robotics ER 2 is available through the Gemini API.2
The Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform offers private preview access.23
What it means for companies: If you are planning robotics projects, you can first evaluate task planning and video understanding through the available interfaces. Testing direct full-body control requires access to the more restricted models.
Claude Mythos finds HAWK weakness and faster research attack on AES
Anthropic reports new cryptanalysis results for HAWK and a reduced version of AES. The findings do not affect encryption currently used in production.
On July 28, 2026, Anthropic presented two cryptanalysis results aided by Claude Mythos Preview.1 The model identified a previously unknown weakness in HAWK, a post-quantum digital signature candidate under NIST review.1 For the small HAWK-256 parameter set, Anthropic estimates that the work needed for full key recovery falls from 2⁶⁴ to 2³⁸ operations.1
The model also found a faster attack against a reduced-round research version of AES-128.1 HAWK is not yet an adopted standard and had already undergone extensive expert review.1 The finding illustrates how AI can assist evaluations of cryptographic candidates.1 Neither result demonstrates an attack on encryption currently used in production: the AES result does not apply to the standard cipher, and the HAWK finding has not been shown to extend to other parameter sets.1
2³⁸ estimated operations for HAWK-256
The model found the HAWK weakness in about 60 hours, according to Anthropic.1
HAWK had undergone two years and two rounds of expert review.1
The AES research variant uses seven rounds; standard AES-128 uses ten.1
The AES attack is roughly 200 to 800 times faster than previous methods.2
What it means for companies: If you are evaluating cryptographic systems, check standardization status and recent security analyses before adoption. Plan for replacing candidate schemes if new weaknesses emerge; this result does not call for replacing existing AES deployments.
Sources: 1 anthropic.com · 2 cyberscoop.com
4 Infrastructure & hardware · Funding & deals · Chips & data centers · Science & health
NVIDIA invests in Safe Superintelligence and provides compute access
NVIDIA and Safe Superintelligence plan to scale the lab’s AI research. Reuters puts the investment at $5 billion, but the official announcement gives no amount.
NVIDIA and Safe Superintelligence (SSI) announced a long-term strategic partnership on July 27, 2026. NVIDIA is investing in the AI research lab, which will also gain access to its upcoming Vera Rubin platform.1 Reuters put the investment at $5 billion, citing a person familiar with the matter. NVIDIA did not disclose an amount in its official announcement.12
SSI plans to expand its research with the funding and compute access. The companies say the agreement will enable SSI to increase its compute capacity by an order of magnitude. They also plan to collaborate on current and future NVIDIA platforms.1 SSI was founded by Ilya Sutskever, OpenAI’s former chief scientist.3 The agreement concerns research infrastructure, not the release of a new model.1
10× Planned compute increase
NVIDIA disclosed neither an ownership stake nor a valuation.1
SSI already has a cloud partnership with Google Cloud.3
What it means for companies: If you plan AI infrastructure, assess compute availability alongside model access. This partnership does not yet provide new model features or an offering you can deploy.
5 Infrastructure & hardware · AI agents · Enterprise AI
New MCP specification removes protocol-level sessions
MCP no longer requires sessions in its protocol core. The change aims to simplify server deployment, but applications can still maintain their own state.
The Model Context Protocol (MCP) published a new specification on July 28, 2026.1 Its core no longer uses protocol-level sessions: the initialize and initialized handshake and the Mcp-Session-Id header have been removed.2 Version and capability information now travels in each request’s _meta fields.2 Anthropic is rolling out support across Claude products.3
The change makes MCP servers easier to run on standard HTTP infrastructure, including serverless and edge deployments.13 Operators can reduce their reliance on sticky sessions and shared session stores.1 A stateless protocol does not make every application stateless: workflows that span multiple calls still need application-level state management.2 The release also changes authorization and adds a framework for extensions.1
Amazon AgentCore Gateway supported the specification on its release day.4
The new specification includes header-based routing.1
What it means for companies: If you run MCP servers, check dependencies on the old handshake and session header. You still need to manage state for multi-step workflows; test existing clients before migrating.
6 Products & tools · Cybersecurity · Coding & dev tools · Open source
OpenAI releases open-source Codex Security CLI
The CLI scans repositories for vulnerabilities and can run in CI/CD. Access to the underlying service remains restricted.
OpenAI released the open-source Codex Security CLI on July 29, 2026.1 It scans repositories for vulnerabilities, tracks findings across runs, and can check whether fixes work.1 Teams can also add its security checks to CI/CD pipelines.1 A TypeScript SDK is available alongside the command-line tool.2
The software used to access the service is open source, but the underlying Codex Security scanner remains in a restricted beta.23 Teams can prepare an integration, but they still need approval to use the service.43 OpenAI positions it as a way for security and engineering teams to find, confirm, and fix vulnerabilities.4 For companies, access to the service is therefore a practical consideration alongside the technical integration.43
What it means for companies: If you plan to add security checks to CI/CD, confirm that your team can access the service first. Test its findings against your existing checks before making them a release gate.
7 Products & tools · AI agents · Cybersecurity · Enterprise AI
Microsoft unveils Project Perception for AI-assisted cyber defense
Specialized AI agents are designed to find attack paths, prioritize risks, and carry out remediation. A public preview is planned for August.
Microsoft unveiled Project Perception on July 27, 2026. The security system uses specialized AI agents in three roles: red team agents look for potential attack paths, blue team agents investigate and prioritize risks, and green team agents handle remediation and hardening. Microsoft describes it as a continuously learning defense system. A public preview is planned for early August.12
The agents are intended to connect work from finding attack paths through remediation, rather than merely generating alerts.1 Microsoft also introduced MAI-Cyber-1-Flash, its own cybersecurity-focused model, which is used in the MDASH vulnerability-management system.13 It remains unclear how much of Project Perception will be available outside existing Microsoft security workflows. Specific pricing and eligibility have also not been clarified.4
3 security agent roles
Microsoft introduced Project Perception at a security event in San Francisco.1
The public preview is scheduled to begin August 3, 2026.1
Microsoft says MAI-Cyber-1-Flash and GPT-5.4 together scored 96% on CyberGym.5
What it means for companies: If you use Microsoft security tools, check which agent capabilities are available in the preview for your environment. Decide which remediation actions should require approval before enabling automation.
8 Products & tools · Science & health · Enterprise AI
OpenAI plans free model access for 100,000 academic researchers
OpenAI is launching free access to its models and tools for researchers at selected institutions. It aims to expand the program to 100,000 participants through 2027.
OpenAI announced ChatGPT for Academic Researchers on July 29. The free program gives researchers at selected academic institutions access to advanced models and tools through ChatGPT, ChatGPT Work, and Codex. OpenAI plans to start with 10,000 researchers this summer and expand to 100,000 through 2027. The rollout is underway at institutions including the Institute for Advanced Study and École normale supérieure.1
Access is not open to all researchers: applicants must verify their institutional affiliation and describe their active research and intended scientific use. OpenAI also offers training and hands-on support. The company says data from the research workspace is not used to train models by default. For research teams, the program could lower the cost of using current AI tools, though participation depends on approval.12
100,000 target researchers through 2027
Approved participants receive 12 months of complimentary access, according to OpenAI.3
Participants can invite up to four collaborators from the same institution.1
What it means for companies: If you use AI in a research team, check eligibility and document your intended use before applying. Compare the available tools and privacy terms with your current setup.
9 Infrastructure & hardware · AI agents · Open source
Moonshot AI releases training infrastructure for Kimi K3
Moonshot AI has made AgentEnv and MoonEP publicly available. Both are components of the infrastructure behind Kimi K3.
On July 27, 2026, Moonshot AI released parts of the infrastructure behind Kimi K3. Alongside the model weights and technical report, the company released code for MoonEP and AgentEnv; FlashKDA was already open source.1 Developed with KVCache.ai, AgentEnv provides isolated environments and supports saving, resuming, and forking agent runs.1 The released weights are also available through Moonshot’s public repository.2
Moonshot describes AgentEnv as infrastructure for training agents with reinforcement learning.1 The release gives other teams access to components involved in developing the model, not just its weights.12 It is not one complete training system: Moonshot identifies AgentEnv, MoonEP, and FlashKDA as separate components.1 The announcement does not establish how much additional infrastructure a team would need to run them independently.1
What it means for companies: If your company trains agents, you can evaluate AgentEnv for isolated training environments. Run a technical trial before estimating the infrastructure and operational work needed to use it.
10 Models · Open source · Image, video & audio · Coding & dev tools
Thinking Machines releases open weights for Inkling-Small
Inkling-Small uses 12 billion active parameters and, according to its maker, approaches the larger Inkling model’s performance. Its weights are available to download.
Thinking Machines Lab released Inkling-Small with openly available model weights on July 30, 2026. The model has 276 billion total parameters, with 12 billion active. Its weights are available to download from Hugging Face; users can fine-tune it on Tinker or try it in Tinker Playground. It accepts text, image, and audio inputs and produces text output.12
Thinking Machines describes its performance as comparable to the larger Inkling model at about a quarter of the size. That is the company’s assessment, not a claim that the models perform equally on every task.1 Artificial Analysis scored Inkling-Small at 40 and Inkling at 41 on its Intelligence Index.3 For companies, the question is whether the smaller model’s resource requirements and performance fit their specific applications.1
12B active parameters
The model weights are released under the Apache 2.0 license.2
The company says training used NVIDIA GB300 NVL72 systems.1
Thinking Machines reports 31.6% on Humanity’s Last Exam.4
Tinker variants were described with 64K and 256K context options.5
What it means for companies: If you run or fine-tune models, test Inkling-Small on your own tasks rather than relying on broad benchmarks alone. Compare output quality, memory needs, and operating costs with your current model.